Mangalore Lok Sabha constituency: Onus on Ramanath Rai

Mangalore Lok Sabha constituency: Onus on Ramanath Rai

Bengaluru: Former minister B Ramanath Rai has been chosen for a committee formed by Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) leaders to face upcoming Lok Sabha election in Mangaluru constituency.

Mr Rai expressed his willingness to contest for the Lok Sabha elections this time. Many Congress leaders present during the meeting headed by K C Venugopal, expressed their support for the former minister who hails from Bunt community. If the traditional Congress votes are consolidated, Congress has a better prospect in the constituency, opined most of the leaders.

The constituency includes Belthangady, Moodabidri, Mangalore City North (previously Surathkal), City South (previously Mangalore), Mangalore (previously Ullal), Bantval, Puttur, and Sullia (SC) legislative constituencies. Currently Nalin Kumar Katil of BJP is representing the constituency, which is known for communal sensitivity.

After the meeting, Congress MLC Ivan D'Souza said that the committee has been asked to strengthen party worker base and work with unity.

Urban Development and Housing Minister U T Khader, who is also the in-charge Minister of Dakshina Kannada, said that a discussion was held to organise the party ahead of General Election. Focus will be on unity and highlighting the failures of Modi-led Union Government, he said.

Congress wants to win at least 20 seats in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has already urged his partymen to start preparing for the General Elections.

During 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Mr Katil defeated Congress veteran Janardhan Poojary with a margin of almost 1,40,000 votes.