'Namma Kudla' Not Smart Enough For Modi Sarkar

Submitted by Subeditor on Thu, 2016-01-28 15:58 New Delhi: The Union Ministry for Urban Development on Thursday announced the names of 20 cities for the first round of “Smart City” mission. The first list include Belagavi and Davangere from Karnataka while Mangaluru omitted from the first stage proposal. In December 2015, 97 selected cities had submitted their plans and report to the ministry and were given Rs.2 crore each to prepare a city-level smart city plans with the assistance of technical agencies and other organizations. The selected 20 cities were evaluated on the basis of six criteria including credibility of implementation, city vision and strategy, and economic and environmental impacts of the plan. In the next two years, 40 cities will be selected each year.